posted by Olucaron,
Following the announcement of the $100,000 Dota 2 Winter Madness tournament, organisers WePlay have now revealed the composition of the competition’s Group Stage. Ten teams will begin in the Group Stage split between two groups, battling to avoid being the bottom team and therefore facing instant elimination. The groups will be played as a best-of-one round robin format.

In Group A, AS Monaco Gambit will be looking to pick up momentum following their first place finishes in qualifying for both The Bucharest Minor and ESL One Katowice 2019. Joining them are Team Empire Hope, Hippomaniacs, Elements Pro Gaming and Team Empire — meaning we have a juicy inter-org match to look forward to.

In Group B, NoPangolier have The Chongqing Major to look forward to, and recently finished runners-up at I Can't Believe It's Not Summit! They have a tough group to navigate, with Vega Squadron (EU), Kaipi and Pavaga to defeat, as well as Team Spirit — who beat NoPangolier in the Not Summit! Grand Final.

The top four teams in each group face a best-of-three series to determine the four sides that will advance to the Quarter Finals, where four invited teams — Alliance, Ninjas in Pyjamas, Forward Gaming and one other, join the battle.

The groups were drawn in a live draw, which you can watch (in Russian) below.

The action gets under way on 27 December, with the Grand Final on 5 January 2019.

Who do you think will win the WePlay Dota 2 Winter Madness?

Header image: WePlay

  • Olucaron


    David W. Duffy
    • Contact:
    • Location: