King’s Cup 2: North America has its finalists

posted by Olucaron,
Just one match remains in Beyond the Summit’s American edition of the King’s Cup, meaning we will soon see our victors crowned. It will be a battle of two North American sides, as Forward Gaming face J.Storm — who will prevail?

Resolut1on prevails as series goes the distance







In the first semi-final it was Forward Gaming who sealed their spot in the Finals, the invited team overcoming fellow North American side compLexity Gaming in a match that needed a third-game decider.

Game 1 was a relatively comfortable win for Roman 'Resolut1on' Fominok and his teammates, holding the lead for the entirety of the match. Apart from a skirmish in the mid-game, they controlled teamfights and eventually closed out the win in 38 minutes with an advantage of over 21k.

Game 2 was much closer. compLexity held a slight advantage for most of the game, before Forward came roaring back. With Resolut1on picking up 15 kills in total, it looked like they had done enough. However, Jacky 'EternaLEnVy' Mao and his side had other ideas — a crucial wipe at around the 45-minute mark gave them hope, and they closed out the game to tie the series.

And so it went to Game 3. Despite there being just one kill difference between the sides, it was Forward who led from minute 4 through to the game’s conclusion 30 minutes later. Resolut1on proved to be the difference — his 17/0/4 performance led by example and cemented his side’s place in the Finals.


paiN X run into a Storm







In the second semi-final, things weren’t quite as close. Tae Won 'March' Park and his J.Storm side brushed past Quinn 'CCnC' Callahan and his mixed USA-Brazil test 123 team — representing South America — in a series clean-sweep.

Game 1 saw David 'Moo' Hull run rampant, claiming ten kills for himself as J.Storm overcame a slight early game deficit. A three-for-one skirmish in around the 18th minute turned things around, and they went on to seal the win.

Game 2 was even more dominant. This time is was Jonathan Bryle 'Bryle' Santos De Guia who led the way, claiming 14 of his team’s 37 kills as J.Storm led for almost the entire game. They wrapped up the win in 35 minutes, with a 17k advantage.





Final promises to be epic



The Final takes place later tonight — 21:00 CEST / 15:00 EDT / 12:00 PDT / 03:00 PHT.

You can catch all the action with the livestream embedded above.

It promises to be a great match, with both teams showing some form in the tournament. Forward Gaming will be fresh, having played just one series as the invited team, while J.Storm have the momentum of finishing top of the group and not having dropped a game since Day 2 of the event.


Who will win? Will it be Resolut1on or March who wears the crown at the end of the day?


Header image © Beyond The Summit

  • Olucaron

    Olucaron

    David W. Duffy
    Editor
    • Contact:
    • Location:
      Germany

Comments