ADVERTISING:

The Bucharest Minor Survival Guide

posted by Olucaron,
After a two-month wait, the next round of DPC events is finally upon us. First up is The Bucharest Minor, and here is everything you need to know about the tournament in the Romanian capital.
ADVERTISING:

What’s at stake?



A $300,000 prize pool is on offer at The Bucharest Minor. It is distributed as follows:

1st: $125,000
2nd: $70,000
3rd: $35,000
4th: $25,000
5th-6th: $15,000
7th-8th: $7,500


It’s not all about the money. Precious DPC points are on offer for teams, as they aim to emulate Tigers’ superb victory at DreamLeague Season 10. The points are distributed as follows:

1st: 120 points
2nd: 100 points
3rd: 90 points
4th: 70 points
5th-6th: 40 points
7th-8th: 20 points


However, perhaps the biggest prize of all awaits the winners only β€” a place at The Chongqing Major just six days later.





Who is taking part?



Eight teams will contest the Bucharest Minor:

β€” OG, winners of The International 2018;
β€” Ninjas in Pyjamas, who finished fourth at The Kuala Lumpur Major;
β€” Team Team, winners of the North America Qualifier;
β€” Playmakers Esports, Peruvian conquerors of South America;
β€” Gambit Esports, recent winners of the WePlay! Dota 2 Winter Madness;
β€” BOOM ID, representing Indonesia and Southeast Asia;
β€” Keen Gaming, victors in the China Qualifier;
β€” EHOME, runners-up to Keen in qualifying.





What is the tournament format?



Teams will initially be split into two groups, who will play out a best-of-three, double-elimination bracket to determine the victors.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Upper Bracket of the Playoffs stage, while the bottom two teams will contest the Lower Bracket.

The Playoffs stage is also a best-of-three, double-elimination bracket, while a best-of-five battle awaits the two teams who make the Grand Final.





Who will be bringing you the action?



The talent list for the Minor is, as always, top tier. Hosting duty goes to Paul β€œRedeye” Chaloner, with analysis from Kyle, Black, PyrionFlax and AdmiralBulldog.

Casting the games will be TobiWan, syndereN, KillerPigeon and Lacoste, while Weppas and Skrff will be your observers. Rounding off the talent team with their irreverent brand of content will be SirActionSlacks and our own Malystryx.





When does it all kick off?



Good news! The action gets under way tomorrow, January 8, 2019.

For the first four days, the broadcast kicks at 09:30 CET / 00:30 PST / 16:30 PHT with a half-hour pre-show. A post-show will follow all the action at 22:00 CET / 13:00 PST / 05:00 PHT.

Group A matches will take place tomorrow (Wednesday), with Group B matches played on Thursday.

Day 3 (Friday) sees the first round of the Playoffs take place, with both Upper Bracket and Lower Bracket matches played.

Day 4 (Saturday) will see Rounds 2 and 3 of the Lower Bracket completed, alongside the Upper Bracket Final.

The final day (Sunday) kicks off with the pre-show at 10:30 CET / 01:30 PST / 17:30 PHT. The Lower Bracket Final will be first, followed by the Grand Final. A post-final show takes place at 21:00 CET / 12:00 PST / 04:00 PHT.


Where can I watch all the action?



You can find all the coverage in the livestream below:





Where can I find more info?



We’ve already produced loads of content about the Minor. Check out the links below!

Another meme cast with Bulldog at the Minor
The Bucharest Minor power rankings
3 teenagers to follow in the footsteps of SumaiL
The end of syndereN's squad


Who do you think will be victorious in Bucharest?


Header image: PGL

  • Olucaron

    Olucaron

    David W. Duffy
    Editor
    • Location:
      Germany
    • Contact:

Further content about this topic

Comments

ADVERTISING:
ADVERTISING: